Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

It’s NOT All In Your Head

on July 18, 2013

I’ve just read this post from last year on US News and it sheds a lot of light on food intolerance and what the nation in general is thinking about food intolerance. http://health.usnews.com/health-news/blogs/eat-run/2012/07/17/food-intolerance-fact-and-fiction

Many people seem to think that it is just a craze that the US is going through right now. I felt that way too when I first heard of it. I already explained my shock at learning of the possibility that my food could be hurting me. At this point many people still refuse to consider gluten intolerance and other food intolerance as truly the cause of health problems. This is bolstered by the fact that the medical community hardly even acknowledges the existence of food allergies beyond those that cause anaphylaxis. Honestly, I too thought that those with “food intolerance” were exaggerating their pain. I have found out otherwise.

Food intolerance is very often downplayed, or compared to “true food allergies.” I know now that the thing that hurts me most in my fight to get better is having someone tell me that it can’t be that bad, or hint that maybe it’s all in my head. As people who know that food intolerance is not exaggerated, we have to explain this to the rest of the world.

The food choices we make can be bad choices and bad choices can hurt. Let’s try to remember that today as we choose what to put in our mouths and stomachs today.  😉

One response to “It’s NOT All In Your Head

  1. […] It’s NOT All In Your Head (crazyfoodjourney.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

