Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Homemade Split Pea Soup

on July 24, 2013

imageIt’s Real Food Wednesday again! For recipes and tips about using real food go to here http://kellythekitchenkop.com/2013/07/real-food-wednesday-7242013.html.

I made this soup yesterday, and it hit me that it is free of most allergens and it is one of my favorites. It became one of my favorites when I was on a no-chew diet for my TMJ disorder. We found that homemade split pea is so much better than the canned, though I used to love the canned too (before my allergies).

Throw all these ingredients in the pot, bring it to a boil, then turn it to low for about 1 and 1/2 hours.

  • 6 cups of water
  • 1 pound bag of green split pea
  • 1 pound of sausage (or Polish Kielbasa), cut in chewable pieces
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp fresh parsley (I do a sprinkling of dried)
  • 2 bay leaves

Serve and enjoy!!image

(By the way, I wouldn’t eat the bay leaves. However, it has become somewhat of a tradition in my family to celebrate getting the lucky bay leaf.) 😉

3 responses to “Homemade Split Pea Soup

  1. MammaPooh says:

    Looks delicious! I’ll be enjoying this one soon! (And, by the way, your pictures are so cute with Pooh & Eeyore in the background.)

Leave a Reply

