Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Intimacy

on August 12, 2013

I heard an absolutely incredible devotional at the Lord’s table today. He began in this way:

Intimacy. What does it mean? Something intimate is private, personal. Intimacy is a personal relationship. Now, I don’t normally think of eating as an intimate act because I do it all the time. But it is intimate. When we eat, we are inviting that food into our bodies, to become a part of our bodies.

ImageHe’s absolutely correct, when I take that bread, and drink that cup, I am, all over again, inviting Christ to become a part of my body. But I kept thinking. Through those same lips that come these good and nourishing things, I put food of which I know nothing. I can go to McDonald’s, for example, and invite completely unknown things into my temple for my Lord. This has begun to frighten me. If I accept that eating is indeed an intimate act, accepting food into my body, to become a part of me, then perhaps I should know exactly what I am inviting in.

I’ve never really thought much about what was in my food until recently when I began to suspect that food was the cause of my unexplained health difficulties. Now, though, I realize that if the Lord cared so much about what was put in his tabernacle, then I’m sure we ought to figure out exactly what we’re putting in our bodies.

Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst?

1 Corinthians 3:16

Image

Leave a Reply

