Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

College with Allergies

on August 30, 2013

In this post, I am merely going to enumerate to you my experiences with eating with allergies in a new place, namely the cafeteria. I have met too many people who do not seem to believe me when I tell them that I have intolerances to various foods.

How to explain to the people who provide my food daily, that I truly cannot eat some foods or I will be ill? Obviously I have not yet found the answer or I would be eating better than I am now. However, I can tell you that at my new school, food allergies are disabilities. I can’t quite decide if this is a good thing or not. If you want to consider this idea deeper look at this site. On the one hand, it says we exist, on the other, it makes me feel very not normal. If I could only get the food I need to have, I’ll bet I could function just as well as anybody else on this campus.

However, with all this in mind, I still keep thinking, if I could just show them a list of possible symptoms and point out the ones that I have. Perhaps at that point, they might understand how important it is that I still be able to eat, but without the ingredients that will cause me pain or any number of other symptoms.

I mentioned earlier that I have met so many people who just don’t seem to understand how much the wrong kind of food can hurt, the other sort of people I have met are people who simply feel sorry for me. So between the people who give me sympathy and the people who think I’m crazy, I’m learning to rephrase things, I’m learning to jump hoops, and I’m learning to live on a lot less food. 😉

Leave a Reply

