Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Dear Doctor, Please Listen

on September 10, 2013

I had a doctor’s appointment this afternoon. I walked in and filled out the paperwork and I waited. I was taken back and told the nurse my medicines and my medical history, etc. and I waited. Then the PA came in. He introduced himself and shook my hand, then went and washed his hands. Understandable. I’m not sure if I’m contagious or not. He then sat down and opened up his laptop and logged on. I told him my problem and he typed it in. He asked me questions about my medications, I answered, he typed them in. When I was unsure about one of them, he started looking up the use, side effects, etc of it. And I waited. And waited. Then he asked me one of the questions again. Not exactly reassuring. He typed in my answer this time. He had me get up on the table and did a short examination of my breathing and heart rate. Then he washed his hands and sat down at his laptop to type things in. I sat down in the chair and waited. And waited. Then he left the room to try to print a prescription and I waited. When he came back he gave me his diagnosis and a prescription.mobilemedical

This is a common enough occurrence, I’m sure, but I find it disturbing. What kind of doctor thinks he can diagnose a patient by looking only at his stats? What kind of doctor thinks that is a good bedside manner? I’m no doctor. I’m a patient, but I’ve been to enough doctors to know that the ones that look me in the eyes and talk to me and listen to me, gain my trust. I wrote in an earlier post, tips for when you go see your doctor. This post is more to simply be sympathetic and complain to the many doctors who will probably never read this.

When you are sick it is difficult to be forceful, I get that. Doctors need to understand that as well, and they need to listen. Counter to popular opinion in the medical world, it is ridiculous to diagnose someone without looking at them. The person you are diagnosing is not just a bunch of stats on the computer. The person you are diagnosing is alive and has things about them that cannot be put into numbers on a screen. And if you cannot find a diagnosis on that computer of yours, try looking up, instead of telling your patient he/she is depressed.

Dear Doctor,

Look at your patient, not at their stats. Consider the living, breathing human being in front of you. Reflect on the fact that perhaps they have thoughts of their own and feelings that aren’t just “depression” or “anxiety” that can be solved with more pills being thrown in their faces. Hear your patients words, and listen to them.

Thanks,

A patient who has seen about 20 different doctors, 4 of which have truly listened when I spoke

Leave a Reply

