Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Granola

on February 4, 2014

I love cereal. I love it so much, that given my choice, I would eat it for breakfast almost every day. With my jaw problems, however, I have just been told to stay away from food that crunches for the time being. But, I thought I ought to share this wonderful thing with you. This was a recipe we found on Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures. Consequently, her site is really very good, she has been gluten free for a long time and now she is also dairy free for her daughter. Anywho, here is her wonderful recipe.

Homemade Coconut Granola

  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 cups old fashioned oats ( I used gluten free)
  • 4 cups quick oats ( I use gluten free)
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut
  • 1/2 teaspoon coconut extract (This is optional, but really gives it a nice extra boost of coconut flavor.)
  1. In a small saucepan mix together brown sugar, coconut oil, and honey. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat and add vanilla and coconut extract.
  2. In a large bowl combine oats, coconut, and sugar/oil mixture.
  3. Stir until oats are well coated and everything is combined.
  4. Spread into 2 9×13 pans.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  6. Stir, turn off your oven, and put the granola back into the oven for 3-4 hrs. The heat left in the oven will finish cooking this. I love this because I can make this and walk away for a few hours without having to continually stir the granola.
  7. Remove from oven after 3-4 hours. Let cool and store in an air tight container.

I hope you enjoy this I much as my family does!

Leave a Reply

