Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Beautiful Granola Bars

on March 28, 2014

Forgive me for not posting for a long time, since my last post, things have not gotten any easier, but I am learning to bake, and even more exciting, to cook for myself! I have now made on my own gluten free chicken pot pie, shepherds pie, sweet potato muffins, chicken nuggets, sweet potato fries, and roasted potatoes (possibly my best dish). I have helped to make spaghetti, spaghetti squash spaghetti, burger salads, taco salads, etc. Eventually I will do my best to get you these recipes, but today I’m sharing with you a recipe that is now a staple for our family: granola bars. 20140423_184416I don’t know if you ate many granola bars before you found your allergies, but I sure did, and now I think I eat even more than I did then. These aren’t particularly healthy for you (appx 230 calories per bar), but they are delicious and keep you from pigging out on other worse things.

Again, this is an easy wonderful recipe that we make every week and keep on hand for snacks. They do freeze well, and our family keeps some in individual Ziploc baggies so they can be grabbed and eaten on the go.

Yield: ~24 (having some super small ones is good for quick and less caloric snacks)

Prep time: 10 minutes
Bake time: 18 minutes

Ingredients
4 cups oats
1 cup of honey
3/4 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup sesame seeds (or peanuts)
2 T (1/8 c) coconut oil
2 T psyllium husks20140423_163501
Chocolate chips and cinnamon chips to spread on top (optional)

 

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350° and grease a 9×13 pan (we use pure olive oil to spray as it is much better for you)
2. Combine oats, honey (tip: spray your measuring cup with some olive oil before you measure the honey), peanut butter, sesame seeds, coconut oil, and psyllium husks in mixer. It will be very thick, you’ll probably need a lot of muscle to take your bowl off the mixer.
3. Use a rubber scraper to scrape the dough to the bottom of the bowl so that it’s in a big ball.
4. Turn the bowl upside down over the greased pan and to drop your dough
5. Spread the dough evenly in the pan, making it with you fingers (you’ll get messy, but it sure does taste good)
6. Squish the chocolate/peanut butter/cinnamon/caramel/what-have-you chips on top and pop it in the oven

We have also tried these using caramel chips and milk chocolate chips, but our favorite topping is dark chocolate chips and cinnamon chips.

20140423_165826 (I forgot the chips for this one, but, no fear, I will put them on once it’s out and cooled off a little.)

 

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I have. Let me know what you think of it!

20140423_184411

2 responses to “Beautiful Granola Bars

  1. Hannah says:

    As it has gotten warmer here in Texas, I have decided to use only one tablespoon of coconut oil when it is in liquid form. When it is liquid it tends to make the bars much stickier and much more liable to fall apart.

Leave a Reply

