Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Cake!

on May 13, 2014

Some background to this delicious post . . . My mom’s birthday was Friday.  My sister’s birthday is the 18th. Mother’s Day was yesterday. My dreaded/eagerly awaited ankle surgery was this morning. 

Henceforth, we had the party for all these celebrations Saturday. And more importantly, my family had its first flourless cake. It was delicious! Like a thick, rich brownie with coffee-chocolate frosting between the layers.

image

Now, I have to be honest, I did not make this cake (except for a little help here and there). My sister made it. Yes, she did! I asked her to start, telling her I’d be in momentarily to help. When I got there, she was doing so well that I decided to sneak out again. In the end, all I ended up doing was mixing some instant coffee together to sub for the coffee extract, as well as lining and greasing the pans.

Here’s the link to this deliciousness.

healthylivinghowto.com/1/post/2013/05/healthy-recipe-double-mocha-cake.html

Some quick tips: do not try to use an egg substitute on this unless you want a falling-apart mess. Also, be careful not to over grease the cake pan. And finally, it will be bubbly with oil when it’s time to take it out. My sister waited about 5 extra minutes for the bubbling to go down a bit. And if was perfect!

I cannot emphasize enough how proud I am of my sister for making this! It was her first time to make anything paleo/allergen-free practically all by herself.

Now, my mom and I actually did the frosting, and we didn’t exactly follow the recipe. This may not be paleo, I’m not sure, but it was delicious and can be made allergen-free, so here you are:

First, throw in whatever was left of your coffee extract substitute (I had about 6 tsp). Then put in 1 1/2 Tbsp of melted butter (or butter sub if you need that),  about 2 cups of powdered sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla flavoring, 2 Tbsp of coconut milk (or any other milk), and about 1/2 cup melted chocolate chips. Then mix it all together and add more powdered sugar or milk as needed to fix the texture.
It was even better topped with a little dairy free ice cream!

image

Leave a Reply

