Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Dairy Free Vanilla Ice Cream

on June 12, 2014

I promised a couple weeks ago that I would share some ice cream with you and today, I’m going to do so!

I’ve missed ice cream. I’ve missed so much, that I even had some a while back, and yes, it made me sick. However, now, since we got my mom an ice cream maker for her birthday/mother’s day, we’ve done some pretty amazing stuff. The last one we made was: vanilla. 😀

20140612_144350

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans of coconut milk (we use Polar brand)
  • 1/3-1/2 c honey
  • 2 T vanilla extract

Instructions:

  • Put your cans in the fridge to chill for at least a half hour.
  • When you’re ready, scoop out the contents of the cans into your mixer, until you get to the water, then pour that on top of the cream. Add the honey (I suggest spraying the measuring cup with olive oil before you measure the honey). Then add the vanilla and run your mixer for a while to make sure it’s all combined well.
  • Then turn on your ice cream maker and pour in the mixture. It’ll take at least 20 minutes to finish. If you want to add chocolate chips, add them at the very end and just let them mix in before you take it out.
  • Once done, scoop it into another container in order to freeze it. Let it harden for an hour or tow at least before serving (if you want it in less time, put your coconut milk in the fridge earlier).

20140612_144406

If you want to get a hold of more allergy friendly recipes, head over to The Baking Beauties website. And I hope you find time to enjoy this scrumptious ice cream!

With berries, a doughnut, and chocolate on top!

With berries, a doughnut, and chocolate on top!

3 responses to “Dairy Free Vanilla Ice Cream

  1. Poohzle says:

    I can’t wait to try this!

  2. […] To celebrate Ice Cream Week, you could make one of the ice cream recipes available on my blog: Vanilla or Butter Pecan. You could also go find a new favorite, I’ve compiled some that I would like […]

Leave a Reply

