Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

“Butter” Pecan Ice Cream

on July 19, 2014

Butter PecanI haven’t had butter pecan ice cream in I don’t know how long! It used to be one of my favorite kinds before I discovered my dairy allergy. I have read since then, and have certainly found it to be true in my case, that you crave the things to which you are allergic. I guess that means many of us ought to look into cutting out chocolate, but I don’t think I’m quite ready to take that step.

In any case, when my mom found this recipe I was super duper happy. I loved butter pecan ice cream, as did my mom. And, I would venture to say, that it is my dad’s absolute favorite ice cream. Tonight, he asked if he could have seconds of it!

Yum!

This recipe is originally over at Allergy Free Alaska, and of course, made a few changes. Here are the ingredients I used and the directions as I followed them.

 

 

 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 c chopped dates, packed
  • 1/4 c brown sugar (could probably use less, will experiment next time and let you know)
  • 1/2 c coconut milk
  • smidgeon of sea salt
  • 1 1/2 T of vegan/regular butter + a little extra for pecan toasting (I used Earth Balance, but next time will try using coconut oil)
  • 2 cans full fat coconut milk (we use Polar brand)
  • 3/4 c chopped pecans
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp butter flavoring (if using coconut oil instead of vegan butter, use more flavoring to taste)

Directions

  1. Put the dates, brown sugar and 1/2 c coconut milk in a small sauce pan. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat and stir in a smidgeon of sea salt, and the butter/coconut oil.
  2. Refrigerate mixture until chilled (ours was in about 5 hours, if you wish to speed this up, you can freeze it a short while)
  3. Place mixture in a blender, add the 2 cans coconut milk and the butter flavoring. Blend until completely smooth.
  4. Pour ice cream mix into your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions.
  5. Meanwhile be toasting your pecans, Megan at Allergy Free Alaska recommends doing them in a skillet. My mom recommends doing them with about an 1/8 tsp of sea salt, as well as a bit of coconut oil or butter
  6. Add the toasted pecans into your ice cream in the last few minutes of mixing.
  7. Then you may serve immediately or freeze until you are ready to enjoy this deliciousness!!

Deliciousness

 

One response to ““Butter” Pecan Ice Cream

  1. […] “Butter” Pecan Ice Cream Jul […]

Leave a Reply

