Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Paleo Sweet Potato Ice Cream

on July 22, 2014

So, you’ll never guess what holiday happened yesterday. National Ice Cream Day!! I’m terribly sorry to have missed posting about it yesterday, so instead, I’m going to declare my own Official Ice Cream Week. To celebrate Ice Cream Week, you could make one of the ice cream recipes available on my blog: Vanilla or Butter Pecan. You could also go find a new favorite, I’ve compiled some that I would like to try on my Pinterest DF ice cream board, perhaps you would enjoy some of those recipes.

…OR,,,20140721_155330

You could try this healthy paleo ice cream!

20140721_155347

 

 

It might be one that is only truly appreciated by those who LOVE sweet potatoes, but I can tell you that I thought it was great. I found this recipe at La Fuji Mama. And I completelyfollowed the recipe, to the very last thing. (I know I’m surprised too!) Here it is:

Recipe from Kate of Eat, Recycle, Repeat

Recipe Notes: This recipe is simple, but just requires some prep time. The day before I want to make it, I usually roast the sweet potatoes if I haven’t already, soak the dates overnight, and make sure my ice cream bowl is in the freezer. You can use any variety of sweet potato here. If you can get your hands on some purple sweet potatoes, I suggest adding a squeeze of lime juice for a tropical flavor.

 

1 cup mashed sweet potato flesh, either roasted or steamed in the crockpot
1 (14-ounce) can full fat coconut milk, Native Forest is BPA-free
1/2 medium avocado
6-8 dates, soaked until plump or 15-20 drops liquid stevia, such as NuNaturals
1/4 cup almond or coconut milk

 

Remove the pits from the dates, if using. Blend all the ingredients together until smooth and creamy.  Add the mixture to your ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer directions. Mine took about 20 – 25 minutes. Serve immediately.

This ice cream is best eaten the day you make it—after all, you don’t take soft serve home from the vendor and freeze it. That 20140721_155604being said, I usually can’t eat an entire batch on my own, so I freeze it in individual servings and let thaw for about 10 minutes. You can also re-blend the ice cream with a banana & milk of choice for a delicious shake!

 

I used only 6 Medjool dates and coconut milk, of course, since I steer clear of almond. Once it was made, I poured some chocolate syrup on top. I think that some cinnamon chips on top of it would be absolutely wonderful as well!

I hope you get some time to try it out and I sincerely hope you enjoy it (especially since it seems a great way to get down some fruits and veggies).

 

 

 

 

20140721_155439

For more great recipes from my fellow bloggers, go check out The Baking Beauties Tuesday Link Up

Leave a Reply

