Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

College and Guacamole

on August 25, 2014

wpid-20140822_113703.jpgAgain, sorry for the long silence, but this time I had a good reason, I’ve been getting settled at college. I know I didn’t write much about college the last time I was here, but that is mostly due to the fact that I was so miserable and frightened and I didn’t want to talk about it. Not only did I have, as I have now heard it referred to, “the freshman woes,” I was sick and trying to relearn everything I knew about both cooking and eating. Needless to say, I couldn’t make it back for the spring, but here I am back now and I know everything is going to be much better. I have my own apartment with one lovely suitemate and we’ve got a spacious kitchen for cooking all sorts of yummy things.

wpid-20140818_172659.jpgThe first thing I made was guacamole. I love guacamole, but I really only truly love guacamole the way my mom makes it. Everyone else’s leaves a little (or a lot) to be desired. You may not feel the same way, but why don’t you at least try it. You may never go back!

Momma’s Guacamole:

Ingredients & Directions:

  • 1 avacado (cut this in half, get the seed out and scoop out the goo stuff with a spoon)
  • garlic salt to taste
  • lime juice to taste (about a half a lime or equivalent of bottled)
  • 1 tomato (use as much of the tomato as you want, I used about half in mine)
  • 1 onion (I used about a 1/4 onion, I think mom uses more)
  • something with which to shovel this into your mouth, it’s great on hamburgers šŸ˜‰

20140817_180210

5 responses to “College and Guacamole

  1. Poohzle says:

    Fabulous!!!!

  2. Brian says:

    I too have spent many nights trying to drown my sorrows in guacamole!

Leave a Reply

