Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Red Beans and Rice Soup

on September 10, 2014

So this last week has been rather difficult. I have contracted “the plague” that has been going around our campus. Contrary to what the name implies, it was a simple cold, but an extremely tenacious one. I have done everything within my power to be in bed early every night, in order to still be in classes, but a few important things have been forgotten. Oh well, what’s done is done.

wpid-20140821_175545.jpgI did learn one important thing this week: that craving that I get for some of Momma’s soup, any of Momma’s soups, is sooooo much stronger when I’m sick. So, since I had my own kitchen I made myself some red bean and rice soup. I love this soup, it’s so simple and so delicious. I’m pretty sure I could eat it all the time. wpid-wp-1410194602423.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups water
  • Louisiana Purchase red bean and rice mix (this brand is gluten-free, and available at these places)
  • 1/2 package polish keilbasa or one chicken breast
  •  1 14-oz can petite diced tomatoes
  • 2 Tbsp chili powder
  • creole for making it spicier, if desired
  • Corn chips for serving

This recipe can be stretched by adding the rest of the package of sausage, 1 cup of extra rice, an extra can of red beanswpid-20140821_175554.jpg

Directions:

  1. Boil your water
  2. Add the mix and the meat
  3. Let simmer until cooked
  4. Add tomatoes and chili powder
  5. Shred chicken, if using
  6. Serve, it is especially great with Fritos

This recipe can be saved and eaten as leftovers for about 2 weeks. And it’s absolutely scrumptious!

wpid-20140821_175603.jpg

Leave a Reply

