Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Creamy Jalapeño à la Chuy’s

on October 2, 2014

Have you ever been to Chuy’s?! I’ll understand if you haven’t. I think it originated in Austin, and isn’t quite as big other places. And to be quite honest I’ve never been a ginormous fan of their food, with one exception—creamy jalapeño. Oh my! That was really why I went to Chuy’s . . . until, of course, that dairy allergy was discovered.

Now, though, I know how to make my own dairy free version in the comfort of my own home, in my own PJs.

wpid-20141001_112824.jpgIngredients:

  • Unsweetened coconut yogurt
  • 2 jalapeños (or 3 small ones)
  • 1/3 c fresh cilantro
  • lime juice to taste (about equal to one lime)
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp season salt
  • 1/2 tsp dill
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/8 tsp dried thyme

Directions:wpid-20141001_112749.jpg

  1. Wash the jalapeños, scrape out the seeds, and cut them up
  2. Throw everything into a blender until it tastes wonderful
  3. Pull out the chips and go to town!
One response to “Creamy Jalapeño à la Chuy’s

Leave a Reply

