Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

Pumpkin Bread

on October 21, 2014

Pumpkins, scarecrows, corn mazes, cooler temperatures, colorful leaves, yoda lights, Christmas music. . . I think it’s fall. And I am so excited! Last week I was going around singing the Thanksgiving rounds that I have sung every year thanks to my school and my dad. Belting out these songs really means fall is here

Praise and Thanksgiving, let everyone bring Unto our father for every good thing. All together joyfully sing.

Followed shortly by . . .

For friends and food And all things good We give thee thanks, O Lord. For friends and food . . . for friends and food . . . for friends and food πŸ™‚

Anywho, that brings me to the beginning of my story about this fall bread. Early last week, as I was driving to class mid-morning, I rolled down the windows because it was a beautiful day. My car was driving a little funny, but I know next to nothing about cars and figured it wasn’t too bad. But when I rolled down the window, I heard this thumping. It was clearly coming from my car, and, well, that worried me. I imagined something had fallen off, but, no, when I pulled up in front of the building, lo and behold: wpid-20141014_154340.jpg Poor Nate (my car) was just barely limping along. There was no way I was taking him any further on that tire, but being a girl, and having had very little practice driving or working with cars, I was stumped. But my cousin helped me find a friend to help me put on the spare. He was super sweet to help (and even to try to teach me to do it myself), so over the weekend I baked him some pumpkin bread as a thank you. This bread really does make a marvelous gift. I also sent one to my little (it’s pledge week for our clubs here at my college). Coincidentally, my little, is so wonderful and I’m so thankful I get to share this week with her. The other loaf of pumpkin bread, though, I ate myself. It makes a marvelous breakfast or dessert or any time snack. I started off with someone else’s recipe, but it just wasn’t working, so a new one was once again born. This seems to happen every time I bake, but I suppose it’s just because I have good ideas. πŸ˜‰ Please excuse the crazy off the wall, noodle writing that is here, I guess that’s what happens when you stay up past midnight four nights in a row. wpid-20141017_164539.jpg Ingredients: Wet

  • 1 can pumpkin puree
  • 3 T coconut oil
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 flax eggs (3 T warm water + 1 T flax seed each egg)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp each nutmeg and allspice
  • 2 T coconut milk (other milk should work fine, this is what I had on hand)

Drywpid-1413583833385.jpg

  • 2 c GF flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (I used these because that’s what I had, and because pecans say fall to me, but really, any nut would work)
  • 3/4 to 1 cup chocolate chips (your preference)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Whisk together wet ingredients
  3. Whisk together dry ingredients (excluding the pecans and chocolate)
  4. Pour the wet into the dry and mix until just combined
  5. Fold in the pecans and the chocolate
  6. Pour into 3 mini bread pans
  7. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until done

(If using only one large bread pan, bake @ 350 for 50 minutes)

This bread is quick and easy to make and leaves your kitchen smelling of fall. Now, go make some πŸ™‚ wpid-20141017_174928.jpg

3 responses to “Pumpkin Bread

  1. MammaPooh says:

    You sound crazy happy…..You forgot to say anything about how your thank-you gift was received by your good Samaritan?

Leave a Reply

