Crazy Food Journey

Living with newfound food intolerances (allergies, reactions)

One-Bowl Chocolate Fudge Cake

on March 3, 2015

wpid-20150213_213346.jpg

I trust you all remember that February 14th was Valentine’s Day. And I’ll admit something, this year all that chocolate in the stores for weeks finally got to me. I saw this cake pan, and I couldn’t resist . . . I bought myself a heart-shaped pan. wpid-20150215_000251.jpgThe first picture here is the rather beautiful and delicious chocolate-cherry one I baked for my boyfriend. He loved it. 🙂

 

But, of course, since I made the recipe up on the fly, it wasn’t perfect. So I perfected it the other day in the chocolate fudge cake I took to a game night. Moist, fudgy, and decadent, the cake was a definite hit with all my gluten-consuming friends.

I know you’re anxious to see the recipe, so here ya go:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose GF flour
  • 14 T unsweetened cocoa (3/4 c + 2 T)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup any milk (I used coconut to make it a little richer)
  • 1/2 coconut oil–softened if not already liquid
  • 2/3 cup apple sauce

Directions:image

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl
  3. Make a well in the middle for the wet
  4. Put in the wet ingredients
  5. Mix together until homogeneous
  6. Oil your pan–an 8×8 preferably, or a small heart pan 🙂
  7. Bake at 350 until done–about 25 minutes
  8. Frost and enjoy!!

Homemade Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (one stick) softened butter
  • about 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions (not super helpful–sorry, I do it all by taste and feel. I’ll try to take better notes next time.):

  1. Mix all ingredients together with mixer until it tastes right, use milk (any kind–I used vanilla soy) as necessary to thin

I hope you enjoy this simple and quick chocolate cake as much as my friends seem to have done! 🙂

image

3 responses to “One-Bowl Chocolate Fudge Cake

  1. MammaPooh says:

    You’re so cute!

  2. brianpm says:

    What ever happened to good old fashioned beaucatcher brownies?

Leave a Reply

